Quick links
You are here: Home » Life After Knox » Alumni Associations » KNOXFRA » KNOXFRA Award of HonourSee our image gallery

KNOXFRA Award of Honour

2016 KNOXFRA Award winners

2016 KNOXFRA Awards recipients (L-R): Dr. Alexander (Sandy) Macpherson, Abel Pandy, Hannah Hoag (for father John Warner Hoag), and The Hon. Rev. Dr. Walter McLean.


Since 1915, the Knox College residence has been a vibrant home away from home for many generations of outstanding students who have gone on to passionately engage in their professions and have become leaders in their fields. East, Centre and West Houses continue to be a residence of choice for highly motivated students from around the globe who we believe are destined to become future leaders in their own right.

About the Award

The KNOXFRA Award of Honour honours former residents by publicly recognizing their unique and outstanding service and accomplishments. The award will provide a sense of history within the walls of Knox and connect current residents to the legacy they share with former residents.

This award is given out at the annual KNOXFRA Dinner held in November. Honoree’s names are displayed on the KNOXFRA Wall of Honour, which is located in the St. George Street foyer of Knox College.

2014 KNOXFRA Award recipients – L to R – The Rev. David Thompson, Dr. Kenneth Walker, Mary MacKay (for husband John MacKay), Donald Ariss and Dr. David Scott.

Categories for recognition

  • Innovation
  • Public, community and business leadership
  • Arts, literature and athletics
  • Mission and international development
  • Philanthropy




While there may be difficulty in finding information about former residents from the early decades, the hope is to provide an opportunity for residence alumni to think about amazing residents and life-long friends who have made recognized contributions in their respective professions and/or communities here in Canada or abroad.

All former residents who lived at Knox for at least one academic year are eligible for nominations. Posthumous nominations are also welcome.

Nominators may be former residents, friends, family members, and colleagues.

The number of finalists for the annual KNOXFRA Award of Honour is determined by the number of nominations received each year.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, April 29, 2016


KNOXFRA was formed in 1988 to develop and maintain long-lasting friendship among residents and the broader Knox College community. A committee of volunteers work with Knox’s Development Office in alumni affairs, organizing an annual reunion dinner and other events.
Nominations can be submitted:

Through our online nomination form

By completing the Nomination Form and mailing it to:
Knox College
Development Office
Attn: Louise Longhurst
59 St. George Street
Toronto, Ontario
M5S 2E6


Scan and email the completed form to: knox.communications@utoronto.ca